Post-century blues

This week, post-century, was a recovery week, with low intensity and just over 100 miles (6 days) of cycling.

It was nice to take a break from all the hard training to get ready for Ride the Rockies in mid-June. But I have the blahs. I think this is partly because of the difficulty of the ride last weekend and partly because I always lose my focus during an easy week.

I have another century planned for this Saturday. It starts at Texas Motor Speedway and goes through Denton County. I’m feeling so-so about it. I’m not in the mood for another battle with the elements, so I hope the weather is nice and the winds are calm. The good news is that there probably aren’t many hills, although this is a new route so I’m not positive.

I have a lot to do before leaving for Colorado on June 13, and I’m already getting a little stressed. I need to figure out how to set up my borrowed tent, buy a sleeping pad and maybe a camp chair (camping is NOT my thing), get some new pedals for my bike … blah, blah, blah.

Oh, and I made the mistake of watching a YouTube video of the ride up Independence Pass (need Microsoft Silverlight to view the map), which occurs on Day 5 (of 6). Now I’m really nervous.

Leave a Reply

