The work is done. Bring on RTR

Well, all the preparation is over and Ride the Rockies starts a week from today. I did my last real ride today, 20 easy miles.

I have put in 9 straight weeks of 100-plus miles, including two over 200.

I have done two centuries. I did 208 miles over three days on Memorial Day weekend.

I have ridden in wind, rain and heat. I have climbed the steep hills in North Arlington countless times.

I have no mountains to train in and I don’t live at altitude. I know I will be cold because the lows will be the 40s and my body is acclimated to Texas summer heat.

But I feel like I’ve done all I can to get ready. My bike is shipping tomorrow and I just need to finish packing and do a few hour-long rides this week before leaving on Saturday.

Time to get nervous. But it’s a good nervous. This should be fun.

Leave a Reply

